Phishing For Your Domain. – November 12th, 2008

Be on the alert for an email from ‘Network Solutions’ regarding your domain: it looks very official and legitimate, but is an evil scheme to steal your domain stuff.  The email subject begins with:

 Action Required: Important Account Information

To comply with the ICANN (Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers) WHOIS policy, we request that you confirm the accuracy of your WHOIS contact information. WHOIS is a publicly accessed database containing contact information associated with every domain name registration.

Etc. Etc.  The email goes on trying to get you to click through and verify site ownership which of course gives the retards access to your account at the real Network Solutions. There are a few of these out there, some with variations.  The best thing to do is to contact your registrar when in doubt.  Do not click through the links in the email or provide ANY information until you verify the source.

If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to my RSS feed. Thanks for visiting!

1 Comment
Posted in News

One Response to “Phishing For Your Domain.”

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

or chancel

Featured On Fox, WDBO, USA Today & The Daily Buzz


Search For SEO / Internet Marketing Articles

Is Your Internet Marketing Plan On Target?

Give us a call today to discuss your Internet marketing plan. In Orlando: 407-830-4550, Nationwide: 866-998-6886.

We offer:

* Marketing / Lead Driven Web Design
* Expert SEO
* Expert PPC & Lead Tracking Systems
* In Depth Analysis & Business Metrics

You can also request more information by filling out our quick contact form here: http://www.ontargetwebsolutions.com/contact/

Some Recent Articles

RSS SEO Insights From TomJelneck.com

RSS Orlando Internet Marketing Blog

RSS The SEO CEO Blog

Blogroll

Categories

Copyright © 2012 All Rights Reserved, On Target Web Solutions, Inc. - Orlando Web Design & SEO Orlando Privacy Policy